FN logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FN Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No official FN pass rate is published by ICC or NAFED, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • Passing requires a scaled score of at least 75 on 80 multiple-choice questions in two hours.
  • Maintenance and Recharge (30%) and Occupancies Identification (24%) together carry 54% of the exam.
  • The exam is delivered online through ICC PRONTO remote proctoring, with approved open-book references allowed.

The Pass Rate Question: What Is Actually Published

If you searched for the pass rate of the Pre-Engineered Industrial Fire Extinguishing System Technician (FN) examination, you probably wanted one clean number. Here is the honest answer: the International Code Council (ICC), which administers the exam, and the National Association of Fire Equipment Distributors (NAFED), which provides training and handles renewal in the joint ICC/NAFED program, do not publish a pass rate for this certification in the sources we reviewed.

That matters because pass-rate figures circulate widely on forums and competitor blogs, often with no source attached. We do not repeat them here. Putting an invented percentage in an article would give you false comfort or false alarm, and neither helps you decide how long to prepare. What we can do is lay out everything that is verifiable about how the exam is built and scored, because those mechanics tell you far more about your own odds than a population-wide average would.

Why a pass rate would mislead you anyway: Candidates for a pre-engineered industrial suppression exam range from technicians with years of field recharge experience to people sitting after a short training course. A blended average hides that spread. Your personal readiness against the seven published objectives is the number that counts.

For a broader look at difficulty without invented statistics, see our companion piece, How Hard Is the FN Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

What the Available Data Does Show

Although a pass rate is absent, several hard facts shape how difficult the exam is likely to feel. The table below separates what is published from what is not.

ItemStatusDetail
Published pass rateNot availableNeither ICC nor NAFED publishes a percentage in the reviewed sources
Number of questionsPublished80 multiple-choice questions
Time limitPublishedTwo hours
Answer formatPublishedFour options, one correct answer
Passing standardPublishedScaled score of at least 75
Result timingPublishedImmediate, with PASS notation or topic-deficiency feedback
Exam feePublished$320, nonrefundable and nontransferable, valid 365 days

Two practical conclusions follow. First, the pace is manageable on paper: two hours for 80 questions averages out to 90 seconds per question, but code-reference lookups eat into that quickly in an open-book exam. Second, because failing candidates receive topic-deficiency feedback, a first attempt that falls short still hands you a map of where to focus before a retake.

How Scoring Works: Scaled 75, Not 75%

One of the most common misunderstandings about this exam is treating the passing score as "75% correct." The published standard is a scaled score of at least 75, and the program does not state that this equals a raw 75% of questions answered correctly. Scaled scoring exists so that different exam forms of slightly different difficulty can be held to the same standard.

What this means for you:

  • Do not plan around answering exactly 60 of 80 questions correctly. That target is an assumption, not a published rule.
  • Aim well above the line in practice. If your practice results hover right at 75%, you have no margin for a harder form or an unlucky topic mix.
  • Use the post-exam feedback if needed. Unsuccessful candidates see topic deficiencies, which is more useful than a raw tally.

We cover the scoring rule in more depth in FN Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Where the Points Are: Domain Weights

The seven content areas below are the official FN examination objectives published by the joint-program partner, not editorial categories invented by a prep vendor. The weights are the single most useful piece of data for predicting your result, because they show where an 80-question exam concentrates its scoring.

DomainWeight
Maintenance and Recharge30%
Occupancies Identification24%
Booths, Hoods, Ventilation, and Exhaust Systems14%
Installations14%
Administration and Records9%
General Component Requirements5%
Inspection4%

Maintenance and Recharge and Occupancies Identification together account for 54% of the exam. A candidate who is strong on those two areas has a structural advantage, while someone who spends most of their time on the smallest domains is optimizing the wrong thing.

Maintenance and Recharge (30%)

The heaviest domain. Expect questions on servicing and recharging pre-engineered industrial systems, and on how the governing standards define service intervals and procedures.

  • Know which standards govern maintenance of the system types on the exam
  • Understand the sequence of servicing steps and what must be verified before returning a system to service
  • Be ready for scenario questions where you decide what action a condition requires

Occupancies Identification (24%)

The second-largest domain tests whether you can recognize the hazard and match it to the right protection approach.

  • Distinguish industrial hazards such as flammable liquid operations, coating and dip processes, and similar applications
  • Connect the hazard to the relevant standard in the reference list (for example NFPA 33 and NFPA 34 address spray application and dipping or coating processes)
  • Recognize when a hazard falls outside what a pre-engineered system is designed to protect

Booths, Hoods, Ventilation, and Exhaust Systems (14%)

Industrial suppression frequently protects enclosures and exhaust paths, so this area ties system design to airflow and equipment.

  • Understand how ventilation and exhaust affect system performance and interlocks
  • Know the protected-enclosure concepts the standards use

A full walkthrough of all seven areas is in FN Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

A weight worth double-checking: General Component Requirements is 5% of the exam, not 30%. Some third-party pages circulate different weightings and fewer reference standards. The current joint-program sources list the weights above, so treat conflicting numbers elsewhere with suspicion.

Format, Delivery and Open-Book Rules

Online remote proctoring

The FN exam is delivered online through ICC PRONTO remote proctoring. NAFED states that all ICC/NAFED examinations are online, and ICC's current delivery guidance limits Pearson VUE to Contractor and UST/AST examinations, not FN. If you read elsewhere that FN is offered at a Pearson VUE test center, that claim does not match the current ICC guidance.

Registration mechanics

  • You need a myICC account.
  • Your government-issued photo ID must match your legal name on the account.
  • ICC's general guidance sets no academic or work-experience prerequisite for sitting the exam, but it expects appropriate occupational and code knowledge.
  • The fee is $320, and purchases are nonrefundable, nontransferable and valid for 365 days.

Our pages on FN Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify and FN Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling cover these steps in more detail.

The open-book advantage and its limits

The exam is open-book under defined rules. Permitted items include approved bound print references, ink notes and highlighting made in advance, permanently attached tabs, and an allowed basic nonprogrammable calculator. Copyrighted photocopies and ordinary writing paper or instruments are prohibited; PRONTO's on-screen Global Notepad replaces scratch paper.

The current reference list for the exam is NFPA 17 (2024), NFPA 17A (2024), NFPA 2001 (2025), NFPA 33 (2024) and NFPA 34 (2024). Open-book does not mean easy. With 90 seconds per question on average, you cannot afford to search an unfamiliar book from scratch. Candidates who tab and annotate their references by topic, and who know where each domain's answers live, move faster than those who rely on browsing.

Key Takeaway

Treat your tabbed references as a lookup index, not a substitute for knowledge. Pre-mark the sections that map to Maintenance and Recharge and Occupancies Identification first, since they cover 54% of the exam.

Retake Rules and the Cost of a Miss

ICC's general national-certification retake policy allows six attempts in six months, with a fee for each attempt. After six attempts, the waiting interval is measured from the first attempt. Because the $320 fee is nonrefundable and nontransferable, a failed attempt is a real cost, not just a setback.

This is the practical reason to care about readiness rather than a pass-rate statistic. The immediate result and topic-deficiency feedback make a retake more targeted, but each attempt still requires a new fee. For the full cost picture, including renewal, see FN Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

If you want to gauge readiness before paying for an attempt, take a few timed runs on our FN practice test site and compare your results against the domain weights above.

Who Sits the Exam and Who Hires for It

The FN credential is aimed at technicians who install, inspect, maintain and recharge pre-engineered industrial fire extinguishing systems. In practice, that points toward fire equipment distributors and service companies, which is the audience the National Association of Fire Equipment Distributors serves, along with industrial facilities that maintain their own suppression equipment.

One point deserves emphasis: certification does not itself grant a state license or replace manufacturer authorization requirements. An employer may still require manufacturer-specific training or authorization, and your jurisdiction may have its own licensing rules. Treat FN as one credential in a stack, not a standalone permission slip. For market context, see FN Jobs, and for the value question, Is the FN Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Staying certified after you pass

Certification is valid for three years. NAFED renewal requires 100 Experience and Education Credits (EECs) per discipline earned during that period, plus an application and the applicable fee. This is the NAFED rule, not the generic ICC 1.5-CEU renewal rule.

  • Organized training earns one EEC per hour.
  • Qualifying relevant work can provide up to 25 credits per 12 months with at least 480 work hours.
  • The renewal fee is $159 per discipline, with an additional $50 for submissions fewer than 60 days before expiration or for eligible late renewal within 180 days after expiration.

A Domain-Weighted Preparation Sequence

You do not need a generic study system here. You need a sequence that follows the weights. This is one way to order your time over several weeks, adjusted to your own experience.

Week 1

Occupancies Identification (24%)

  • Learn to match hazards to protection approaches before anything else; it drives the logic in other domains
  • Start tabbing NFPA 33 and NFPA 34 sections relevant to your references
Weeks 2-3

Maintenance and Recharge (30%)

  • Give the largest domain the most time, including scenario practice
  • Annotate NFPA 17 and NFPA 17A service and recharge sections for fast lookup
Week 4

Booths, Hoods, Ventilation and Installations (14% each)

  • Pair these two since installation questions often depend on enclosure and exhaust conditions
  • Review NFPA 2001 (2025) where clean-agent concepts apply
Week 5

Administration and Records, Components, Inspection (18% combined)

  • Cover the smaller domains quickly but do not skip them, since they add up
  • Finish with full-length timed practice under open-book conditions

Small domains still count toward the scaled score, so a candidate who ignores Inspection (4%) and General Component Requirements (5%) gives up easy points. For a deeper plan, see FN Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the quick-reference FN Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the FN exam pass rate?

ICC and NAFED do not publish an FN pass rate in the sources we reviewed. Any specific percentage you encounter elsewhere should be treated as unverified. The verifiable standard is a scaled score of at least 75.

Is a scaled score of 75 the same as getting 75% of questions right?

Not necessarily. The published requirement is a scaled score of at least 75, and the program does not state a raw 75% figure. Plan to score comfortably above that line in practice rather than targeting an exact number of correct answers.

Can I retake the FN exam if I fail?

Yes. ICC's general national-certification retake policy allows six attempts in six months, with a fee for each attempt. Unsuccessful candidates receive topic-deficiency feedback immediately, which helps target further study.

Is the FN exam open-book, and where do I take it?

It is open-book under ICC rules, allowing approved bound print references and permanently attached tabs. It is delivered online through ICC PRONTO remote proctoring, not at a Pearson VUE test center.

Which domains matter most for passing?

Maintenance and Recharge (30%) and Occupancies Identification (24%) together make up 54% of the exam. Booths, Hoods, Ventilation, and Exhaust Systems and Installations are 14% each, so those four areas deserve most of your preparation time.

Ready to pass your FN exam?

Put this into practice with free FN questions across every exam domain.